Language   RussianEnglish

Care for indoor plants in the winter

Care for indoor plants in the winter
Even during the harsh winter cold we want to enjoy the pleasant aroma of home plants. Each flower, in its essence, is unique, as well as its care, but, as a rule, the creation of an optimal atmosphere for most varieties of indoor plants is achieved by observing several important rules.

Rules for caring for indoor flowers in winter

For most indoor flowers, the main nuance in the winter is the lack of solar heat and lighting. Mankind is used to solving this problem with stationary heating systems, but, in the case of living plants, this is more a disadvantage than an advantage.
When a short winter day ends and the sun hides behind the horizon, plants demanding ultraviolet light need extra comfort. It can be provided by turning on fluorescent lamps of medium power. You can determine the need for light by the fast withering of the flowers - the buds lose their color, and the leaves begin to fall off.
The inclusion of home heating systems, in particular, affects the level of humidity in the premises. If the air is too dry, then a lack of moisture can also adversely affect plants. The installation of additional air humidifiers, which will be relevant for residents living in the house, will also help to survive this difficult period. A simpler solution is to use a spray gun - day and evening spraying of stems and petals will allow the flowers to receive enough moisture for unhindered growth.
As for soil fertilizer, most indoor plants in the winter, so to speak, rest and gain strength. Accordingly, they do not need an excessive amount of substances, so fertilizer application should be reduced to a minimum. We should not forget about drafts - in summer, the air temperature indoors and outdoors is usually the same. But in winter, the contrast is maximum, and strong currents of frosty air can do huge harm to indoor flowers. Of course, nobody recommends forgetting to air the rooms, but at such moments it is best to remove the flowers from the windowsill in a place where they will not succumb to the harmful effects of the cold from the street.
Last but not least, watering plants. If you do not plan to move the flower pot from the windowsill, and it will be constantly heated by batteries and radiators, then the watering level should not be changed compared to summer. The plant will “assume” that it is still summer outside, so the living organism still needs a lot of moisture. If the temperature drops in the house, then the amount of water consumed decreases.
Observing these simple rules for caring for indoor flowers, you can provide your home "pets" with a comfortable winter and can enjoy their flowering with the onset of spring heat.

Уход за комнатными растениями в зимний период

Уход за комнатными растениями в зимний период
Даже в период суровых зимних холодов мы хотим наслаждаться приятным ароматом домашних растений. Каждый цветок, по своей сути, уникален, как и уход за ним, но, как правило, создание оптимальной атмосферы для большинства сортов комнатных растений достигается путем соблюдения нескольких важных правил.

Правила ухода за комнатными цветами зимой

Для большинства комнатных цветов основным нюансом в зимний период является недостаток солнечного тепла и освещения. Человечество привыкло решать данную проблему стационарными системами обогрева, но, в случае с живыми растениями это является больше недостатком, чем преимуществом.
Когда короткий зимний день заканчивается и солнце скрывается за горизонтом, требовательные к ультрафиолету растения нуждаются в дополнительном комфорте. Его обеспечить можно включением люминесцентных ламп средней мощности. Определить нужду в свете можно по быстрому увяданию цветков – бутоны теряют окрас, а листки начнут опадать.
Включение домашних отопительных систем, в том числе, влияет на уровень влажности в помещениях. Если воздух будет слишком высушен, то недостаток влаги также может пагубно сказаться на растениях. Пережить данный сложный период поможет установка дополнительных увлажнителей воздуха, которые будут актуальны и для проживающих в доме жильцов. Более простым решением является использование пульверизатора – дневное и вечернее опрыскивание стеблей и лепестков позволит цветам получать достаточно влаги для беспрепятственного роста.
Что касается удобрения почвы, то большинство комнатных растений в зимний период, так сказать, отдыхают и набираются сил. Соответственно, они не нуждаются в избыточном количестве веществ, так что внесение удобрений следует сократить до минимума. Не следует забывать и о сквозняках – в летний период температура воздуха внутри помещений и на улице, как правило, одинакова. Но зимой контраст максимальный, и сильные потоки морозного воздуха могут нанести огромный вред комнатным цветкам. Конечно, о проветривании комнат никто не рекомендует забывать, но в такие моменты лучше всего убрать цветы с подоконника в место, где они не будут поддаваться пагубному воздействию холода с улицы.
Последним, но не менее важным моментом, является полив растений. Если вы не планируете перемещать горшок с цветком с подоконника, и он будет находиться под постоянным нагревом от батарей и радиаторов, то уровень полива по сравнению с летним не следует менять. Растение будет «считать», что на улице до сих пор лето, так что живой организм все также нуждается в большом количестве влаги. Если же в доме температура падает, то и количество потребляемой воды уменьшается.
Соблюдая эти нехитрые правила ухода за комнатными цветами, вы сможете обеспечить домашним «любимцам» комфортную зиму и сможете наслаждаться их цветением с наступлением весеннего тепла.