Language   RussianEnglish

Growing Calathea

Growing Calathea

Calathea has a unique appearance, but to achieve its flowering is very difficult. The whole problem is to create specific climatic conditions, and in this material we will clarify how best to grow this plant at home.

Choosing the best place in the house

Not too experienced flower growers argue that calathea feels equally comfortable, both in a well-lit place and in partial shade. This opinion is erroneous - for the active flowering of this exotic representative of the flora, it will be necessary to provide him with constant access to solar ultraviolet. Of course, it is not recommended to allow direct rays to hit the flower, but the abundance of scattered light will allow the calate to develop rapidly and delight residents with a large number of leaves that have an original color.
In addition to the above, kalatea should be protected from sudden temperature drops and drafts. This question is especially relevant in the winter, and if you plan to ventilate the room, it is recommended to transfer the flowerpot with the plant to another room. However, in the summer, oxygen saturation will not hinder the flower, so it can be safely taken out onto the open terrace or balcony.

Temperature, humidity and watering

So that the leaves do not fade, it is necessary to provide the calathea with stable access to moisture. It will be necessary to moisten the soil in the flowerpot at least once a day, preventing the supersaturation of the root system with liquid or drying out of the earthy coma. For irrigation, it is best to use a settled liquid heated to room temperature (heating of water to 25-27 degrees is considered optimal).
As for the heating of the air in the room, the temperature should be maintained at a level of 20-22 degrees. In winter, to ensure a comfortable period of rest, it is necessary to ensure that the temperature does not fall below 14 degrees. The quantity of water procedures directly depends on this indicator, which are reduced to a minimum in winter and increase with the onset of spring.
The humidity level in the room is the most important parameter, since not every tenant florist can observe this indicator at the level of 80-90%. Of course, an ordinary person will not feel very comfortable in rooms with such humidity, so a frequent option for growing calathea is to place it in special greenhouses.
To solve the problem, you can use artificial sources of moisture - place containers with liquid near the kalatea and constantly moisten its leaves with a soft, damp cloth. Hard water from the tap cannot be used for these purposes, since a plant like this can get sick and die.

Язык   RussianEnglish

Выращивание калатеи

Выращивание калатеи
Калатея имеет уникальный внешний вид, но добиться ее цветения весьма непросто. Вся проблема заключается в создании специфических климатических условий, и в данном материале мы уточним, как лучше всего выращивать это растение в домашних условиях.

Выбор оптимального места в доме

Не слишком опытные цветоводы утверждают, что калатея одинаково комфортно себя чувствует, как в хорошо освещенном месте, так и в полутени. Данное мнение ошибочно – для активного цветения этого экзотического представителя флоры потребуется предоставить ему постоянный доступ к солнечному ультрафиолету. Конечно, не рекомендуется допускать попадания на цветок прямых лучей, но обилие рассеянного света позволит калатее стремительно развиваться и радовать жильцов большим количеством листьев, имеющих оригинальный окрас.
Помимо вышенаписанного, калатею следует уберечь от резких температурных перепадов и сквозняков. Особенно данный вопрос актуален зимой, и если вы планируете проветривать помещение, рекомендуется переносить вазон с растением в другую комнату. Однако летом насыщение кислородом цветку не помешает, так что его можно смело выносить на открытую террасу или балкон.

Температура, влажность и полив

Чтобы листья не вяли, необходимо обеспечить калатею стабильным доступом к влаге. Увлажнять почву в вазоне потребуется не менее раза в день, не допуская перенасыщения корневой системы жидкостью или пересыхания земляного кома. Для полива лучше всего использовать отстоянную жидкость, нагретую до комнатной температуры (оптимальным считается прогрев воды до 25-27 градусов).
Что касается прогрева воздуха в комнате, то показатель температуры следует поддерживать на уровне 20-22 градусов тепла. В зимний период для обеспечения комфортного периода покоя необходимо следить, чтобы температура не опускалась ниже 14 градусов тепла. От данного показателя напрямую зависит и количество водных процедур, которые сокращаются до минимума зимой и увеличиваются с наступлением весны.
Уровень влажности в комнате является самым важным параметром, так как далеко не каждый жилец-цветовод может соблюдать данный показатель на уровне 80-90%. Конечно, обычный человек будет чувствовать себя не очень комфортно в комнатах с такой влажностью, так что нередким вариантом выращивания калатеи является ее размещение в специальных теплицах.
Для решения вопроса можно использовать и искусственные источники влаги – размещайте емкости с жидкостью рядом с калатеей и постоянно увлажняйте ее листья при помощи мягкой, влажной тряпки. Жесткую воду из-под крана для этих целей использовать нельзя, так как от подобного растение может заболеть и погибнуть.