Language   RussianEnglish

Gardenia cultivation

Gardenia cultivation

Gardenia has a specific appearance, due to which it is often confused with a rose. There are several hundred varieties of this plant, but only its jasmine appearance will be optimal for growing at home. And in this article we will try to figure out how to properly care for this beautiful flower.

Choosing the right place in the house

Providing a gardenia flowerpot with a sufficient amount of diffused ultraviolet radiation is the main condition for its unhindered growth and flowering. The best place for a pot would be window sills on the east or west side of the house. In summer, the flowerpot should be well protected from scorching sunlight, and in winter it is recommended to install additional light sources in the form of standard fluorescent lamps.
Gardenia buds are very fragile, so during the growth period the young plant should not be moved to another place or turned “face” to the sun or turned away from it. It is also recommended to protect the indoor flower from any temperature changes, so determine in advance a room that will not be often aired.

Air temperature, humidity and watering

In the summer-spring period, an optimal temperature in a room with gardenia will be an indicator from 20 to 24 degrees of heat. In winter, gardenia falls into a state of rest, and the flower will comfortably tolerate wintering if the temperature is maintained in the room from 12 to 16 degrees Celsius.
The soil in the gardenia pot must be constantly moist. The earthen coma should not be allowed to dry out, but it is also impossible to fill the flower. For watering, it is best to use a liquid purified from chemical impurities, warmed up to room temperature. If it is not possible to buy such water, then you can defend the liquid flowing from the tap.
During the period when the gardenia blooms, you should spray the flower from the spray gun once a day. This time is the moment when the flower most needs water, so it is necessary to moisten it additionally, otherwise we will not achieve active flowering.
The same rule applies to humidity in a room with a pot. If the grower can not ensure the maintenance of this parameter in the region of 60-70%, then placement of water baths next to the pot will be useful.

Fertilizer application

Use minerals for gardenia should be in the spring and summer - at this time the flower absorbs the maximum amount of fertilizing, since it requires a lot of strength for flowering. The rest of the time (in autumn and winter) you can completely forget about top dressing, as gardenia literally “falls asleep” and gathers strength before moving on to the next season.

Язык   RussianEnglish

Выращивание гардении

Выращивание гардении
Гардения имеет специфический внешний вид, из-за которого ее часто путают с розой. Сортов данного растения существует несколько сотен, но для выращивания в домашних условиях оптимальной будет только ее жасминовый вид. И в этой статье мы постараемся разобраться с тем, как правильно ухаживать за этим красивым цветком.

Выбор подходящего места в доме

Обеспечение вазона с гарденией достаточным количеством рассеянного ультрафиолета является основным условием его беспрепятственного роста и цветения. Лучшим местом для горшка будут подоконники с восточной или западной стороны дома. Летом следует обеспечить вазон хорошей защитой от палящих солнечных лучей, а зимой рекомендуется установить дополнительные источники освещения в виде стандартных люминесцентных ламп.
Бутоны гардении весьма хрупки, так что в период роста молодое растение не следует перемещать в другое место или поворачивать «лицом» к солнцу или отворачивать от него. Также рекомендуется обезопасить комнатный цветок от любых температурных перепадов, так что заранее определите помещение, которое не будет часто проветриваться.

Температура воздуха, влажность и полив

В летне-весенний период оптимальным значением температуры в помещении с гарденией станет показатель от 20 до 24 градусов тепла. Зимой гардения впадает в состояние покоя, и цветок с комфортом перенесет зимовку, если в комнате поддерживается температура от 12 до 16 градусов тепла.
Почва в горшке с гарденией должна быть постоянно влажной. Не следует допускать пересыхания земляного кома, но и заливать цветок также нельзя. Для полива лучше всего использовать очищенную от химических примесей жидкость, прогретую до комнатной температуры. Если нет возможности покупать такую воду, то можно отстоять жидкость, текущую из-под крана.
В период, когда гардения распускается, следует раз в день опрыскивать цветок из пульверизатора. Данное время является моментом, когда цветок больше всего нуждается в воде, так что необходимо дополнительно его увлажнять, иначе активного цветения мы не добьемся.
Это же правило касается и влажности воздуха в помещении с вазоном. Если цветовод не может обеспечить поддержание данного параметра в районе 60-70%, то нелишним станет размещение рядом с горшок ванночек с водой.

Внесение удобрений

Использовать минеральные вещества для гардении следует весной и летом – в это время цветок поглощает максимальное количество подкормки, так как ему требуется много сил для цветения. В остальное время (осенью и зимой) можно совсем забыть о подкормке, так как гардения буквально «засыпает» и набирается сил перед переходом в следующий сезон.