Language   RussianEnglish

Growing oleander

Growing oleander
The evergreen oleander is a voluminous plant capable of growing up to 2 meters high. This representative of the flora is often found in countries with a Mediterranean climate, but every year more and more lovers of exotic flowers grow at home in Russia, regardless of their homeland. In this article we will try to clarify what are the nuances in caring for an oleander and how to provide it with the most suitable conditions.

Suitable place in the house

Entering a flower shop, we can notice a small green bush of an oleander. However, do not be fooled by its compact appearance - as soon as it reaches adulthood, the oleander will require much more space. Accordingly, for him initially it is necessary to provide a place in a spacious room with high ceilings.
Throughout the year, the oleander needs a lot of sunlight. In summer and winter, the lush deciduous crown absorbs a large amount of ultraviolet radiation, so it is best to put it near the windowsills, whose windows face the east or west side of the house.
Constant ventilation of the room will not be superfluous - an abundance of fresh air will saturate the oleander with useful substances and help it grow without any problems. Moreover, without access to oxygen, we are unlikely to be able to ensure that the flower pleased us with its lush flowering. It is only in the winter period that the plant should be protected from sudden temperature changes and provide for it wintering in cool conditions.

Air temperature and watering

In summer and spring, when the oleander grows and develops, the air temperature in the room should not fall below 20 degrees. The optimal value during this period is an indicator within 20-25 degrees of heat. In winter, when the flower hibernates and gathers strength before the next flowering period, it must be placed in a cooler room - for wintering, the air temperature within 16 degrees Celsius will be optimal.
From May to October, when the oleander is in the most active flowering period, the root system of the flower absorbs the largest possible amount of liquid. At this time, moisten the soil in the pot should be at least once or twice a day. With the onset of cold weather, the amount of liquid introduced is reduced by half.
For irrigation, it is best to use water that has been left standing and warmed to room temperature. The composition of the liquid entering our house from the crane contains too many impurities and elements harmful to the colors. If we do not cleanse the liquid from them, then the oleander will not only not develop, but it can also become fatally ill.

Язык   RussianEnglish

Выращивание олеандра

Выращивание олеандра
Вечнозеленый олеандр представляет собой объемное растение, способное вырастать до 2-метровой высоты. Данный представитель флоры часто встречается в странах со средиземноморским климатом, но и в России находится с каждым годом все больше любителей выращивать дома экзотические цветы, вне зависимости от родины их обитания. В этой статье мы постараемся уточнить, какие существуют нюансы в уходе за олеандром и как обеспечить ему наиболее подходящие условия.

Подходящее место в доме

Заходя в цветочный магазин, мы можем заметить небольшой зеленый кустик олеандра. Однако не обманываетесь его компактным внешним видом – как только он достигнет зрелого возраста, олеандр потребует гораздо больше места. Соответственно, для него изначально нужно предусмотреть место в просторной комнате с высокими потолками.
В течение всего года олеандр нуждается в большом количестве солнечного света. И летом, и зимой пышная лиственная крона поглощает большое количество ультрафиолета, так что его лучше всего ставить недалеко от подоконников, чьи окна выходят на восточную или западную сторону дома.
Не лишним станет и постоянное проветривание комнаты – обилие свежего воздуха насытит олеандр полезными веществами и поможет ему расти без каких-либо проблем. Более того, без доступа к кислороду мы вряд ли сможем добиться того, чтобы цветок нас порадовал своим пышным цветением. Вот только в зимний период следует уберечь растение от резких температурных перепадов и обеспечить для него зимовку в прохладных условиях.

Температура воздуха и полив

Летом и весной, когда олеандр растет и развивается, температура воздуха в помещении не должна опускаться ниже 20 градусов. Оптимальным значением в этот период является показатель в пределах 20-25 градусов тепла. Зимой же, когда цветок впадает в спячку и набирается сил перед очередным периодом цветения, его необходимо поместить в более прохладную комнату – для зимовки температура воздуха в пределах 16 градусов Цельсия будет оптимальной.
С мая по октябрь, когда олеандр находится в самом активном периоде цветения, корневая система цветка поглощает максимально большое количество жидкости. В это время увлажнять почву в вазоне следует не реже одного-двух раз в день. С наступлением холодов количество вносимой жидкости сокращается в два раза.
Для полива лучше всего использовать воду, отстоянную и прогретую до комнатной температуры. В составе жидкости, поступающей к нам в дом из крана, содержится слишком много примесей и вредных для цветов элементов. Если мы не очистим жидкость от них, то олеандр не только не будет развиваться, но и может смертельно заболеть.