Language   RussianEnglish

Growing Dracaena

Growing Dracaena

Dracaena has long been a familiar guest in modern apartments for people who prefer the cultivation of exotic plant varieties. This charming representative of the flora is very unpretentious in care, so placing the dracaena seeds or buying an already mature flower in the store will be an excellent outlet for those who want to diversify the home interior. And now we will figure out how to create suitable conditions for a flower for unhindered growth in enclosed spaces.

Choosing the right place

For a flowerpot with dracaena, the best place in the house is a well-lit room. Pots can be placed on window sills facing the east or west side of the house. In summer, it is recommended not to allow direct sunlight to get on the leaves, since the strong influence of ultraviolet light can leave burns on the plant.
Bordered dracaena and Derema dracaena are least dependent on light. They can be placed in the shade, while their leaves will not fade or fall. Other varieties are recommended to be provided with artificial lighting in winter - the installation of fluorescent lamps will allow the dracaena to comfortably tolerate the onset of winter cold.

Watering and air temperature

When the topsoil in a pot with dracaena begins to dry, it is recommended to pour it abundantly with settled liquid, warmed up to room temperature. An earthen gulf is the greatest danger for this representative of the flora, since the root system is very susceptible to the amount of fluid introduced.
If the tips of the leaves begin to turn yellow and dry, then dracaena needs more moisture. In such situations, it is recommended to additionally spray the leaves of the flower from the spray gun or wipe them with a damp cloth, cleaning the pores of dust and dirt. In winter, the amount of watering should be significantly reduced (up to once every few days), and in summer - increase (up to once a day).
As for air temperature, any sort of dracaena loves a stable, warm atmosphere. In the spring-summer period, the optimum value is the air temperature in the room in the region of 16-25 degrees. For a comfortable wintering, you should carefully monitor that the room temperature does not fall below 14 degrees Celsius.

Feeding and transplanting

When the dracaena roots completely fill the pot, a new transplant container should be purchased. Clay pots are ideal for this, as the material will allow the plant to breathe, saturated with oxygen. Young plants should be replanted once a year, and for more mature dracaenas it is recommended to simply change the topsoil several times a year.
From February to October, dracaena needs additional feeding. Twice a month you need to make mineral fertilizers in the soil of the pot, which will help the flower to comfortably survive the growing season. In winter, feeding is not necessary, since at this time dracaena falls into a state of rest and does not require additional substances for growth and flowering.

Выращивание драцены

Выращивание драцены
Драцена уже давно стала привычным гостем в современных квартирах у людей, которые отдают предпочтение выращиванию экзотических сортов растений. Этот очаровательный представитель флоры весьма неприхотлив в уходе, так что размещение семян драцены или покупка уже зрелого цветка в магазине станет отличным выходом для тех, кто хочет разнообразить домашний интерьер. И сейчас мы разберемся с тем, как создать для цветка подходящие условия для беспрепятственного роста в закрытых помещениях.

Выбор подходящего места

Для вазона с драценой оптимальным местом в доме будет хорошо освещенная комната. Горшки можно размещать на подоконниках, выходящих на восточную или западную сторону дома. Летом рекомендуется не допускать попадания на листья прямых солнечных лучей, так как сильное воздействие ультрафиолета способно оставить на растении ожоги.
Драцена окаймленная и драцена деремская меньше всего зависят от света. Их можно размещать в тени, при этом, их листья не увянут и не опадут. Другие же сорта рекомендуется обеспечивать искусственным освещением зимой – установка люминесцентных ламп позволит драцене комфортно переносить наступление зимних холодов.

Полив и температура воздуха

Когда верхний слой почвы в горшке с драценой начинает высыхать, ее рекомендуется обильно полить отстоянной жидкостью, прогретой до комнатной температуры. Залив земляного кома является самой большой опасностью для этого представителя флоры, так как корневая система весьма восприимчива к вносимому количеству жидкости.
Если кончики листьев начинают желтеть и высыхать, значит, драцена нуждается в большем количестве влаги. В таких ситуациях рекомендуется дополнительно опрыскивать листья цветка из пульверизатора или протирать их влажной тряпкой, очищая поры от пыли и грязи. Зимой количество поливов следует существенно сократить (до одного раза в несколько дней), а летом – увеличить (до раза в день).
Что касается температуры воздуха, то любой сорт драцены любит стабильно-теплую обстановку. В весенне-летний период оптимальным значением является температура воздуха в комнате в районе 16-25 градусов тепла. Для комфортной зимовки следует внимательно следить, чтобы температура в помещении не опускалась ниже 14 градусов Цельсия.

Подкормка и пересадка

Когда корни драцены полностью заполнят горшок, следует приобрести новую емкость для пересадки. Глиняные кашпо для этого подойдут оптимально, так как материал позволит растению дышать, насыщаясь кислородом. Молодые растения следует пересаживать раз в год, а для более зрелых драцен рекомендуется просто несколько раз в год менять верхний слой почвы.
С февраля по октябрь драцена нуждается в дополнительной подкормке. Дважды в месяц нужно вносить в почву горшка минеральные удобрения, которые помогут цветку с комфортом пережить вегетационный период. Зимой подкормки вносить не нужно, так как в это время драцена впадает в состояние покоя и не требует дополнительных веществ для роста и цветения.