Language   RussianEnglish

Begonia cultivation

Begonia cultivation

No need to be a professional florist in order to grow a real garden at home. In practice, there are many varieties of unpretentious plants in the care, which include begonia. It blooms luxuriantly, does not need constant care. In the material presented, we will answer questions about how to create suitable conditions for begonia so that this representative of the flora does not die after the first flowering season in apartments or private houses.

Choosing the right place in the house

A better place for begonias than a well-lit room is not to be found. A flower all year round needs an abundance of solar ultraviolet, without which we are unlikely to see lush bloom. But if in summer you can achieve this effect by placing the flowerpot on the illuminated windowsills (you need to protect it from direct sunlight), then in winter you will need to install artificial light sources that are activated after sunset.
In addition to light requirements, begonia is very sensitive to the atmosphere. The presence of drafts and sudden temperature changes are fatal for her, so it’s best to move the flowerpot to another room during the airing of the room in winter. In the summer, you can safely take the pot out to fresh air - so begonia will be able to freely grow and develop.

Watering and soil

In summer, begonia actively absorbs moisture from the soil, so you will need to constantly ensure that the earthen lump in the pot does not dry out. It will be enough to water the flower once a day - in the warm season, and once every few days - in the winter. For watering, it is necessary to use a settled liquid warmed up to room temperature.
Begonia must be grown in loose soil rich in organic matter. The easiest way will be to purchase ready-made mixtures in flower shops, suitable for classic varieties of indoor plants. In such compositions sand must be present, which in the future will perform the function of a drainage layer to rid begonia of excess moisture.

Reproduction and transplantation

Most often, the propagation of begonias uses the technique of cuttings. To do this, from March to April, the cuttings are placed on a substrate, their rooting is expected. It will be required to water them occasionally - so the shoots take root in a new place faster and give fresh shoots.
Begonia transplantation should only be done if the plant has become crowded in the current container. For a transplant, you will need to take a pot that will be a couple of centimeters larger than the previous one, create a preliminary drainage layer and fill the plant with new soil. We carefully monitor so as not to damage the root system of begonias, cleaning it from the old earth. Damaging the roots is very easy, but it will take quite a while to restore the plant.

Выращивание бегонии

Выращивание бегонии
Не нужно быть профессиональным цветоводом для того, чтобы вырастить дома настоящий сад. На практике существует масса сортов неприхотливых в уходе растений, к которым и относится бегония. Она цветет пышно, не нуждается в постоянном уходе. В представленном материале мы ответим на вопросы о том, как создать для бегонии подходящие условия, чтобы этого представитель флоры не погиб после первого же сезона цветения в квартирах или частных домах.

Выбор подходящего места в доме

Лучшего места для бегонии, чем хорошо освещенное помещение, не найти. Цветок круглый год нуждается в обилие солнечного ультрафиолета, без которого мы вряд ли увидим пышное цветение. Но если летом добиться данного эффекта можно, расположив вазон на освещенных подоконниках (потребуется защитить его от попадания прямых солнечных лучей), то зимой потребуется установить искусственные источники света, активируемые после захода солнца.
Помимо требований к свету, бегония очень чувствительна к атмосфере. Наличие сквозняков и резких температурных перепадов для нее губительны, так что на время проветривания комнаты зимой лучше всего переместить вазон в другое помещение. Летом же можно смело выносить горшок на свежий воздух – так бегония сможет беспрепятственно расти и развиваться.

Полив и почва

Летом бегония активно поглощает влагу из почвы, так что вам потребуется постоянно следить за тем, чтобы земляной ком в горшке не пересыхал. Достаточно будет поливать цветок один раз в день – в теплое время года, и раз в несколько дней – зимой. Для полива необходимо использовать отстоянную жидкость, прогретую до температуры в помещении.
Выращивать бегонию необходимо в рыхлой почве, богатой органикой. Самым простым выходом станет приобретение готовых смесей в цветочных магазинах, подходящих для классических сортов комнатных растений. В таких составах обязательно должен присутствовать песок, который будет выполнять в будущем функцию дренажного слоя для избавления бегонией от лишней влаги.

Размножение и пересадка

Чаще всего для размножения бегонии используется методика черенкования. Для этого в период с марта по апрель черенки помещаются в субстрат, ожидается их укоренение. Потребуется изредка их поливать – так отростки быстрее приживутся в новом месте и дадут свежие побеги.
Пересадкой бегонии следует заниматься только в том случае, если в текущем контейнере растению стало тесно. Для пересадки потребуется взять горшок, который будет на пару сантиметров больше предыдущего, создать предварительно дренажный слой и засыпать растение новым грунтом. Внимательно следим за тем, чтобы не повредить корневую систему бегонии, очищая ее от старой земли. Повредить корни очень легко, а вот на восстановление растения потребуется довольно много времени.