Language   RussianEnglish

Growing Sedum at Home

Growing Sedum at Home

Sedum refers to those plants, the care of which does not cause any special problems. The flower has a pleasant aroma and is very resistant to sudden temperature changes. But how to care for him? With this we will understand this material.

Choosing the right place

Unlike other similar varieties, Sedum favorably perceives an abundance of sunlight. It can be placed on the windowsill of the rooms of the south and west sides in the summer, and in the winter it will need to provide additional sources of light. To do this, fit a simple fluorescent lamps that can be turned on after sunset.
As for the presence of fresh air, then optimally for the sedum fit place on the balcony or terrace. In winter, Sedum can not even make a separate room, if you are constantly airing the room. This flower will not die if there is a draft, although it is recommended to protect the flower from the fierce winter frost. The optimal place during such periods for him will be the window sill above the battery, since the excess heat to the sedum clearly does not hurt.

Watering and feeding

Watering the pot with sedum should not be too regular, but also to prevent the soil drying out. However, an overabundance of moisture can also adversely affect it - if there is a lot of water, the root system starts to rot, and the plant will work, thus, various diseases and quickly die.
Initially, minerals should be placed in the soil immediately after planting the sedum in the pot. After that, the plant for quite a long period will not need additional fertilizers. Subsequently, it is recommended that you feed your pet no more than once a month — in summer and spring, and in winter, forget about this procedure altogether.

Air temperature, humidity and reproduction

As mentioned above, Sedum is not too demanding on air temperature. In winter, it is recommended not to lower the index below 8 degrees Celsius, but you should not overestimate it too much. If it is not possible to fulfill this requirement, then simply place the flowerpot on a cool window sill, where the temperature is always lower than in the rest of the room.
Regarding the level of humidity, Sedum is not too picky about this parameter. The flower will not die at high or low levels of moisture in the air, but will grow more actively if this figure is at the level of 70% in the premises.
It is most convenient to engage in flower reproduction during its flowering period (in early spring) with leaves and cuttings. You can separate the roots with your hands or with a sharp knife, placing the processes in a new (small) pot. Sedum gets accustomed quickly enough so that you can enjoy its flowering already with the onset of the next spring.

Выращивание седума дома

Выращивание седума дома
Седум относится к тем растениям, уход за которыми не доставляет особых проблем. Цветок имеет приятный аромат и весьма устойчиво относится к резким температурным перепадам. Но как правильно за ним ухаживать? С этим мы и разберемся в данном материале.

Выбор подходящего места

В отличие от прочих аналогичных сортов, седум благоприятно воспринимает обилие солнечного света. Его можно размещать на подоконниках комнат южной и западной стороны в летний период, а зимой ему потребуется обеспечить дополнительные источники света. Для этого сгодятся простые люминесцентные лампы, которые можно включать после захода солнца.
Что касается наличия свежего воздуха, то оптимально для седума подойдет место на балконе или террасе. Зимой седум можно даже не выносить в отдельную комнату, если вы постоянно проветриваете помещение. Этот цветок не погибнет при условии наличия сквозняка, правда, от лютых зимних морозов цветок все же рекомендуется уберечь. Оптимальным местом в такие периоды для него станет подоконник над батареей, так как лишнее тепло седуму явно не помешает.

Полив и подкормка

Поливать горшок с седумом следует не слишком регулярно, но и не допускать пересыхания почвы. Однако переизбыток влаги также может пагубно сказаться на нем – если воды будет много, то корневая система начнет гнить, и растение заработает, таким образом, различные болезни и быстро умрет.
Первоначально минеральные вещества следует внести в грунт сразу после посадки седума в горшок. После этого растение довольно длительный период не будет нуждаться в дополнительных удобрениях. В последующем подкармливать вашего домашнего любимца рекомендуется не чаще одного раза в месяц – в летний и весенний период, а зимой о данной процедуре забыть вовсе.

Температура воздуха, влажность и размножение

Как было сказано выше, седум не слишком притязателен к температуре воздуха. Зимой рекомендуется не допускать понижения показателя ниже 8 градусов тепла, но и не следует его излишне завышать. Если не имеется возможности выполнить данное требование, то просто разместите горшок с цветком на прохладном подоконнике, где всегда температура ниже, чем в остальном помещении.
Относительно уровня влажности, седум не слишком требователен к данному параметру. Цветок не погибнет при высоком или низком уровне влаги в воздухе, но будет расти активнее, если в помещениях данный показатель находится на уровне 70%.
Заниматься размножением цветка удобнее всего в период его цветения (в начале весны) листьями и черенками. Отделять корни можно руками или при помощи острого ножа, размещая отростки в новом (небольшом) горшке. Приживается седум достаточно быстро, так что вы сможете насладиться его цветением уже с наступлением следующей весны.